Google Play link
Samajwadi Party releases fourth list of candidates; Akhilesh to contest from Mubarakpur | Samajwadi Party releases manifesto for UP polls | Congress releases list of 63 candidates in Uttarakhand | Ticket to Rajnath Singh's son, Pankaj Singh causes resentment in the BJP in U.P. | Congress releases first list of 43 candidates for UP polls
Main Menu

Uttarakhand Assembly Election

Parliamentary Constituencies 5
Assembly Constituencies 70
Ruling Party Indian National Congress
Opposition Party BJP
Chief Minister Harish Rawat
Governor Krishan Kant Paul(Aditional Charge of Manipur and Meghalaya)
Chief Electoral Officer Radha Raturi
Address Room No.- 4, Subhash Road, North Block, Secretariat- 4, Dehradun, (Uttarkhand) -248001

Uttarakhand Assembly Elections 2017

Elections to the 70 seats of Uttarakhand legislative assembly are going to be held in early 2017. The Election Commission of India has not announced the date of election yet. It is likely to do so by November 2016. The BJP has already started campaigning aggressively for the upcoming Assembly elections. BJP national president Amit Shah sounded the poll bugle with his ‘Shankhnaad Rally’ in Haridwar. He appealed voters to remove the ‘corrupt’ Congress government and bring BJP to power to usher development in the state. Besides minor regional parties, the BJP, Congress and BSP are the main political contenders in this state.

Complete List of MLA of Uttarakhand

Constituency Name Const. No. MLA’s Name Party
Almora 52 Manoj Tiwari INC
BADRINATH 26 Rajendra Singh INC
BAGESHWWAR 4 Chandan Ram Das BJP
BAZPUR (SC) 47 Yashpal Arya INC
BHAGWANPUR (SC) 64 Surendra Rakesh BSP
BHEL RANIPUR 28 Adesh Chauhan BJP
Bhimtal 57 Dan Singh Bhandari BJP
Chakrata 15 Pritam Singh INC
Champawat 55 Himesh Kharakwal INC
Chaubattakhal 39 Teerath Singh Rawat BJP
Dehradun Cantt. 21 Harbans Kapoor BJP
Deoprayag 10 Mantri Prasad Naithani IND
Dhanolti 14 Mahaveer Singh BJP
Dharampur 18 Dinesh Agarwal INC
Dharchula 42 Harish Dhami INC
Didihat 43 Bishan Singh Chuphal BJP
Doiwala 23 Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank BJP
Dwarahat 48 Madan Singh Bisht INC
Gadarpur 65 Arvind Pandey BJP
Gangolihat 45 Narayanram Arya INC
Gangotri 3 Vijay Pal Singh Sajwan INC
Ghanshali 9 Bheem Lal Arya BJP
Haldwani 59 Indira Hridyesh INC
Hardwar 25 Madan Kaushik BJP
Hardwar Rural 35 Yatishwaranand BJP
Jageshwar 53 Govind Singh Kunjwal INC
Jaspur 62 Dr. Shailendra Mohan Singhal INC
Jhabrera 29 Hari Dass BSP
Jwalapur 27 Chandra Shekhar BJP
Kaladhungi 60 Banshidhar Bhagat BJP
Kapkote 46 Lalit Mohan Singh Farshwan INC
Karnprayag 6 Anusuya Prasad Maikhuri INC
Kashipur 63 Harbhajan Singh Cheema BJP
Kedarnath 7 Shaila Rani Rawat INC
Khanpur 32 Kunwar Pranav Singh Champion INC
Khatima 70 Pushkar Singh Dhami BJP
Kichha 67 Rajesh Shukla BJP
Kotdwar 41 Surendra Singh INC
Laksar 34 Sanjay Gupta BJP
Lalkuwa 56 Harish Chandra Durgapal IND
Lansdowne 40 Daleep Singh Rawat BJP
Lohaghat 54 Puran Singh BJP
Manglore 33 Sarwat Kareem Ansari BSP
Mussoorie 22 Ganesh Joshi BJP
Nainital 58 Sarita Arya INC
Nanak matta 69 Prem Singh BJP
Narendranagar 11 Subodh Uniyal INC
Pauri 37 Sundar Lal INC
Pirankaliyar 30 Furkan Ahmed INC
Pithoragarh 44 Mayukh Singh INC
Pratapnagar 12 Vikram Singh Negi INC
Purola 1 Mal Chand BJP
Raipur 19 Umesh Sharma (Kau) INC
Rajpur Road 20 Rajkumar INC
Ramnagar 61 Amrita Rawat INC
Ranikhet 50 Ajay Bhatt BJP
Rishikesh 24 Premchand Aggarwal BJP
Roorkee 31 Pradeep Batra INC
Rudraprayag 8 Harak Singh Rawat INC
Rudrapur 66 Raj Kumar Thukral BJP
Sahaspur 17 Sahdev Singh Pudir BJP
Salt 49 Surendra Singh Jeena BJP
Sitarganj 68 Ganesh Prasad BJP
Someshwar 51 Kiran Chand Mandal BJP
Tehri 13 Dinesh Dhanai IND
Tharali 5 Jeet Ram INC
Vikasnagar 16 Nav Prabhat INC
Yamkeshwar 36 Vijaya Barthwal BJP
Yamunotri 2 Preetam Singh Panwar UKD (P)

About Uttarakhand Elections

Elections to the state’s first Legislative Assembly were held in 2002. For the first election in the state, 28 political parties including national, state and registered parties participated, with 927 contestants in the fray. The number of electors was 52,70,375, out of which 54.34% cast their votes. Since then, Uttarakhand has held regular elections to the Legislative Assembly.

The last assembly elections were held in 2012. Polling was conducted in all 70 constituencies in single phase. The Indian National Congress won 32 seats while the BJP got 31. Although it did not secure majority, the Congress emerged as the single largest party and formed government by allying with the PDF. Congress member Vijay Bahaguna was appointed the chief minister. After Bahaguna’s resignation, Harish Rawat became the state’s new chief minister in 2014.

With nine Congress MLAs resigning from the party, main opposition BJP made a failed attempt at toppling the government in Uttarakhand. It imposed President’s rule in the state in March 2016 which was later revoked by the Supreme Court of India.

Assembly Constituencies in Uttarakhand

Uttarakhand has 70 state assembly constituencies out of which 13 are reserved for candidates belonging to scheduled castes and 2 are reserved for candidates belonging to scheduled tribes.

Some of the constituencies in the state are Purola, Yamnotri, Gangotri, Badrinath, Karnprayag, Kedarnath, Rudraprayag, Deoprayag, Ghanshali, Narendranagar, Pratapnagar, Tehri, Dhanolti, Chakrata, Vikasnagar, Dharampur, Rishikesh, Hardwar, Roorkee,Pauri, Yamkeshwar, Gangolihat, Nainital, Bageshwar, Almora, Lohaghat, Haldwani, Kaladhungi, Kashipur, Rudrapur, Khatima, and Nanak Matta .

Issues of the State

Uttarakhand was formed in November, 2000 in response to demands for a separate state to address the unique needs and requirements of the hill people. But ever since the state came into being, it has been mired in political instability with only one government able to complete a full five year term in the last 16 years. While the demand for branching out from Uttar Pradesh was valid, the purpose for its creation has not been served yet. Uttarakhand’s people want sustainable development, livelihoods and infrastructure that is equipped to handle ecological disasters that the region is prone to. Instead, unemployment remains high and the vulnerability to ecological disasters has only increased. While the state is rich in minerals, irregular mining has made the hill region more prone to floods, landslides and related natural disasters, causing immense damage to life and property.

State Legislative Assembly

Uttarakhand has a unicameral legislature comprising one house only, that is, the State Legislative Assembly, which is also known as the Vidhan Sabha. The assembly consists of 70 directly elected members and one nominated member from the Anglo Indian community. The members of the state assembly are elected every five years. The total number of constituencies in the state is 70. The seat of the Legislative Assembly is at state capital Dehradun. Uttarakhand is represented in Indian Parliament by five directly elected members of the Lok Sabha and three indirectly elected members of the Rajya Sabha. The Speaker of the current Legislative assembly is Govind Singh Kunjwal. Harish Rawat is the chief minister and Krishan Kant Paul is the Governor of the state.

Facebook Comments

Contact Us