Main Menu

Lok Sabha 2019 Semifinal Dates Announced

Election dates announced
Notice: Undefined index: margin_above in /home/ivkindvotekar/public_html/wp-content/plugins/ultimate-social-media-icons/libs/controllers/sfsiocns_OnPosts.php on line 440

Notice: Undefined index: margin_below in /home/ivkindvotekar/public_html/wp-content/plugins/ultimate-social-media-icons/libs/controllers/sfsiocns_OnPosts.php on line 441

The Election Commission Saturday announced dates for the assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan, Mizoram and Telangana. With the announcement of the poll dates by the ECI, the Model Code of Conduct has come into force with immediate effect.

The election in Chhattisgarh will be held in two phases, in the first stage, elections will be held in 18 assembly constituencies on November 12. In the second phase, the election in 72 constituencies will be held on November 20. Legislative elections in Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram will be held on November 28. Meanwhile, in Rajasthan and Telangana will go to polls on December 7 in a single phase.

The full schedule announced by the Election Commission is as follows:

Rajasthan (200 seats)
Last date of filing of nomination – Nov 19
Polling – 7 Dec 2018

Madhya Pradesh (230 seats)
Last date of nomination – Nov 9
Polling – 28 Nov 2018

Chhattisgarh (90 seats)
1st phase (southern Chhattisgarh) –
Last date of nomination – Oct 23
Polling – 12 Nov 2018

2nd phase (northern Chhattisgarh)-
Last date of nomination – Nov 2
Polling – 20 Nov 2018

Mizoram (40 seats)
Last date of nomination – Nov 9
Polling – 28 Nov 2018

Telangana (119 seats)
Last date of filing of nomination – Nov 19
Polling – 7 Dec 2018

Counting of votes in all five states will be held on December 11, 2018, Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) O P Rawat announced in the press conference.
This round of elections is expected to set the pace for next year’s general elections when Prime Minister Narendra Modi will seek another term in power. In Rajasthan, the BJP is trying to buck the trend of a yo-yoing electorate that hasn’t given two consecutive terms to any party. In Chhattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh, the BJP has ruled for three straight terms and the results there will be considered a ready reckoner for the party’s fortunes in the heartland next year.

With the Commission’s announcement, the model code of conduct has come into effect in four states. The Model Code was already in place in Telangana.

The Congress tweeted “Dear ECI, 1. In Gujarat, BJP IT Cell Head tweeted election dates even before ECI. 2. ECI delinked Gujarat elections from Himachal to enable PM Modi to make a slew of announcements. 3. ECI again deferred PC to enable PM Modi to do the same in Rajasthan Is BJP the ‘Super EC’?” read the tweet from senior party leader Randeep Surjewala.

#Loksabha #Mizoram #Rajasthan #MadhyaPradesh #Chhattisgarh #Telengana

Related News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *