Google Play link
Samajwadi Party releases fourth list of candidates; Akhilesh to contest from Mubarakpur | Samajwadi Party releases manifesto for UP polls | Congress releases list of 63 candidates in Uttarakhand | Ticket to Rajnath Singh's son, Pankaj Singh causes resentment in the BJP in U.P. | Congress releases first list of 43 candidates for UP polls
Main Menu

Election Commission

Contact Details of Election Commissioners of India are:

Name Designation Email Office No. Office Fax
S. Nasim Zaidi Chief Election Commissioner 23052323,23052424 23052525
Mr. Achal Kumar Joti Election Commissioner 23052132,23052134 23052249
Mr. Vinod Zutshi Deputy Election Commissioner 23052023,23052024 23052025
Mr. Sudhir Tripathi Deputy Election Commissioner 23052013,23052228 23318497
Mr. Umesh Sinha Deputy Election Commissioner 23052081,23052226 23052227
Mr. P.K. Dash Director General 23356025, 23715028 23318506

About Election Commission of India

The Election Commission of India (ECI) is a constitutional body responsible for administering elections in India according to the rules and regulations mentioned in the Constitution of India. It was established on January 25, 1950 with an aim to define and control the process for elections conducted at various levels: Parliament, State Legislatures, and the offices of the President and Vice President of India. In other words, the ECI ensures smooth and successful functioning of the democracy.

Role of Election Commission of India

In its assigned role, the most crucial challenge before the Election Commission of India is to implement norms and the Model Code of Conduct to ensure free and fair elections in the country. Its existence and independence are necessitated by history, which has shown that democratic elections are not free from sabotage. Towards this end, it has been empowered to oversee political parties and candidates and take appropriate action in case of violations.


The secretariat of the Commission has 300 officials, and is located in New Delhi. The Deputy Election Commissioners and Director Generals are the senior-most officers in the secretariat. The President of India appoints the Chief Election Commissioner, who serves for six years and must retire at the age of 65. The Commissioner is generally a member of the Civil Services, and more often, of the Indian Administrative Services (IAS) or the Indian Revenue Services (IRS). He can be removed from his office through the process of impeachment, which needs to be carried out in the Parliament. The President of India can remove the other officers on the Chief Commissioner’s recommendation.

Facebook Comments

Contact Us