Google Play link
Samajwadi Party releases fourth list of candidates; Akhilesh to contest from Mubarakpur | Samajwadi Party releases manifesto for UP polls | Congress releases list of 63 candidates in Uttarakhand | Ticket to Rajnath Singh's son, Pankaj Singh causes resentment in the BJP in U.P. | Congress releases first list of 43 candidates for UP polls
Main Menu

Delhi Assembly Election

Quick facts for Delhi Elections

Parliamentary Constituencies 7
Assembly Constituencies 70
Ruling Party Aam Aadmi Party
Opposition Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal
Lt. Governor Najeeb Jung
Chief Electoral Officer Shri Chadrabhushan Kumar
Address Old St. Stephen College Building, Kashmere Gate, Delhi-110006

Complete List of MLA of Delhi:

Adarsh Nagar- Pawan Kumar Sharma (AAP)
Ambedkar Nagar- Ajay Dutt (AAP)
Babarpur- Gopal Rai (AAP)
Badarpur- Narayan Dutt Sharma (AAP)
Badli- Ajesh Yadav (AAP)
Ballimaran- Imran Hussain (AAP)
Bawana- Ved Parkash (AAP)
Bijwasan- Col Devinder Sehrawat (AAP)
Burari- Sanjeev Jha (AAP)
Chandni Chowk- Alka Lamba (AAP)
Chhatarpur- Kartar Singh Tanwar (AAP)
Delhi Cantt- Surender Singh (AAP)
Deoli- Prakash Jarwal(AAP)
Dwarka- Adarsh Shastri (AAP)
Gandhi Nagar- Anil Kumar Bajpai (AAP)
Ghonda- Shri Dutt Sharma (AAP)
Gokalpur- Fateh Singh (AAP)
Greater Kailash- Saurabh Bharadwaj (AAP)
Hari Nagar- Jagdeep Singh (AAP)
Janakpuri- Rajesh Rishi (AAP)
Jangpura- Praveen Kumar (AAP)
Kalkaji- Avtar Singh (AAP)
Karawal Nagar- Kapil Mishra (AAP)
Karol Bagh- Vishesh Ravi (AAP)
Kasturba Nagar- Madan Lal (AAP)
Kirari- Rituraj Govind (AAP)
Kondli- Manoj Kumar (AAP)
Krishna Nagar- SK Bagga (AAP)
Laxmi Nagar- Nitin Tyagi (AAP)
Madipur- Girish Soni (AAP)
Malviya Nagar- Somnath Bharti (AAP)
Mangol Puri- Rakhi Birla (AAP)
Matia Mahal- Asim Ahmed Khan (AAP)
Matiala- Gulab Singh (AAP)
Mehrauli- Naresh Yadav (AAP)

Model Town- Akhilesh Pati Tripathi (AAP)
Moti Nagar- Shiv Charan Goel (AAP)
Mundka- Sukhvir Singh (AAP)
Mustafabad- Jagdish Pradhan (AAP)
Najafgarh- Kailash Gahlot (AAP)
Nangloi Jat- Raghuvinder Shokeen (AAP)
Nerela- Sharad Kumar (AAP)
New Delhi- Arvind Kejriwal (AAP)
Okhla- Amanatullah Khan (AAP)
Palam- Bhavna Gaur (AAP)
Patel Nagar- Hazari Lal Chauhan (AAP)
Patparganj- Manish Sisodia (AAP)
RK Puram- Parmila Tokas (AAP)
Rajinder Nagar- Vijender Garg Vijay (AAP)
Rajouri Garden- Jarnail Singh (AAP)
Rithala- Mohinder Goyal (AAP)
Rohini- Vijender Kumar (BJP)
Rohtas Nagar- Sarita Singh (AAP)
Sadar Bazar- Som Dutt (AAP)
Sangam Vihar- Dinesh Mohaniya (AAP)
Seelampur- Mohd Ishraque (AAP)
Seema Puri- Rajendra Pal Gautam (AAP)
Shahdara- Ram Niwas Goel (AAP)
Shakur Basti- Satyendar Jain (AAP)
Shalimar Bagh- Bandana Kumari (AAP)
Sultanpur Majra- Sandeep Kumar (AAP)
Tilak Nagar- Jarnail Singh (AAP)
Timarpur- Pankaj Pushkar (AAP)
Tri Nagar- Jitender Singh Tomar (AAP)
Trilokpuri- Raju Dhingan (AAP)
Tughlakabad- Sahi Ram (AAP)
Uttam Nagar- Naresh Balyan (AAP)
Vikaspuri- Mahinder Yadav (AAP)
Vishwas Nagar- Om Prakash Sharma (BJP)
Wazirpur- Rajesh Gupta (AAP)

MCD Bye Election Results 2016

Party Wins
Congress 4
Independent 1
Total 13

MCD Bye-Polls Results Ward Wise

Ward No. Ward Name Winner Party
44 Quammruddin Nagar Ashok Bhardwaj INC
55 Shalimar Bagh North BM Bhandari BJP
67 Wazirpur Mahender Nagpal BJP
86 Ballimaran Mohhamad Sadiq AAP
124 Vikas Nagar Ashok Kumar AAP
126 Nevada Krishan Gehlot BJP
136 Matiala Ramesh AAP
166 Munirka Yogita Rathee INC
168 Nanakpura Anil Malik AAP
176 Bhati Rajender Singh Tanwar IND
199 Tekhand Abhishek Bidhuri AAP
214 Khichripur Anand Kumar INC
238 Jhilmil Mr Pankaj INC

Delhi Assembly Elections 2015

Delhi is all set for fresh elections in February 2015. All the major political parties are gearing up for the elections and have formed strategies for effective campaigning in the city. The elections are going to be largely an AAP versus BJP affair.
The Congress party, that governed Delhi for three consecutive terms from 1998 to 2013, seems a mere shadow of its past. Political experts are of the view that the BJP may be able to capitalise on the ‘Modi Wave’ once again and may emerge as the single largest party with clear majority this time around. While AAP is going to give tough competition to the BJP, it might not be able to reach the clear majority mark. But yet the possibility of a fractured mandate can not be denied.

Delhi seems concerned about the same lot of grim issues that have continued to hurt its status as the national capital for long. Poor water supply and power outages, weak infrastructure, corruption, crime against women, problem of law and order, unemployment and pollution are still the issues that are going to be at the core of the assembly elections.

About Delhi Assembly Elections

The first elections for the Delhi Legislative Assembly were held in 1993 in which Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) emerged victorious. The last assembly elections were held in Delhi in 2013 in which Aam Aadmi Party won as many as 28 seats and formed its government with outside support of Indian National Congress (INC). In the 2013 Assembly elections, there were 11,753 polling stations with 11.9 million eligible voters out of which 6.6 million were men and 5.3 million were women including 405,000 first time voters. Presently, Delhi is under President’s rule ever since former chief minister Arvind Kejriwal resigned in February 2014.

After its landslide victory in General Elections 2014, the BJP is confident of getting a clear majority in the state Assembly elections and is looking forward to fresh polls in the national capital. The Congress will try its best to regain its lost ground. On the other hand, AAP will have to start from scratch. It has to plan a new strategy to win back the confidence of voters in Delhi.

Unknown facts about Delhi Elections

  • Only seven Chief Ministers have ruled over Delhi in its political history. The last one, Arvind Kejriwal, has served the shortest term for only 49 Days, just three short of Sushma Swaraj’s (52 days).
  • All the Union Territories of India represent 1 seat Lok Sabha seat, except for Delhi which accounts for seven.
  • All seven Union Territories of India make a total of 100 Assembly seats collectively. Delhi has 70 while Puducherry accounts for the remaining 30. Five Union Territories do not have a Legislative Assembly.
  • The President’s rule has there been imposed only once in Delhi’s history. It came into force when Arvind Kejriwal tendered his resignation from the post of Delhi CM on 15th February 2014.
  • Delhi did not have a chief minister for more than 37 years between 1st November 1956 and 2nd December 1993. This is the longest period of time for which a state/UT did not have a chief minister.
  • The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) formed the government in Delhi within the shortest span of time since its formation. The party came into existence in November 2012 and formed the government in Delhi in December 2013.
  • Delhi accounts for more seats (seven) in the Lok Sabha than that of eleven states and other six Union Territories of India.
  • North West Delhi is the only parliamentary seat of Delhi that is reserved for a Scheduled Caste (SC) candidate. Delhi has 12 assembly seats reserved for SCs, none for STs.
  • Chaudhary Brahm Prakash was the youngest (and first) Chief Minister of Delhi when he assumed office at the age of 34 in 1952. While Sheila Dikshit is the oldest to have held the office of the CM at the age of 60.
  • Gurmukh Nihal Singh was not only the second chief minister of Delhi, he also served as the first ever governor of the state of Rajasthan.
Facebook Comments

Contact Us